Here’s an idea…

Hello, Everyone! It’s been forever since I’ve updated the blog, and I apologize for that. The last 3 months have been the craziest for my family, but here’s hoping things will get back to normal now! We had a great last meeting. Rebekah was kind enough to bring her scrap bins to share with us. Andrea brought her Tokyo Subway Map quilt to show us. These 2 things gave me a fantastic idea! (or at least I think so)  Since a couple of our members tackled this quilt with stunning results, it has motivated some others to make their own. I have been sorting through scraps and cutting 2″ squares in the hopes of making my own.

So, here’s the idea: let’s bring our scrap bins for a scrap swap to fill in the gaps of colors for our own quilts! You know the saying about one man’s trash. Well in our case, it could be one quilter’s trash is another’s treasure!  Also, we have some new quilters in our group that may not have a significant stash yet, and sharing scraps would certainly help them add variety to their projects.  We had also talked about doing our own Tokyo Subway Map quilt-a-long to work on during our meetings. Since this quilt has a bazillion 2″ sqrares, it may be significantly less daunting to make it together!  Anyone need orange? I seem to have an abundance!

Tokyo Subway Map Layout by Oh, Fransson!

Here’s the link for the quilt-a-long info:

http://www.ohfransson.com/oh_fransson/tokyo-subway-map-quilt-along.html

Congratulations are definitely in order for Debbie Grifka! She entered one of her stunning quilts in the AQS show this spring, and she won first place in her category! Now we can all say we knew her when! Way to go, Debbie!

http://www.americanquilter.com/shows_contests/paducah/2011/quilt_contest/quilt_winners.php

Well, that’s all for now. I hope to see you on the 25th at our next meeting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here’s an idea…

  1. just ran across your group on the internet…just printed off the subway pattern…just have a ton of scrps and Just would love to go to the next meeting…just let me know where and when…please.
    and please email me because my blog is new…just got it….kelibott@yahoo.com

  2. Sounds like a great group project. I hoping to make the next meeting and bring lots of square scraps! Angie

  3. grforest says:

    I really like the idea of swapping scraps. I’ll be there with my bin.

  4. I am so glad to have come in the shop yesterday and met Andriella! Thank you so much for telling me about the group – I cannot wait to get to meet everyone. I feel like I may have found my people 🙂

Leave a comment